Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for April 6th, 2011

by Jaime Grijalba.

It’s been quite a while since I last posted in this magnificent site, even if I have the chance every other wednesday, I haven’t done so, many reasons have been in the way, but most of the time it’s been lack of material to work with. After all, most of my posts go around two subjects: literature and new films that should be taken into account, considerated to be in the year end’s lists. So, then, two things have happened, I haven’t had time to finish the latest Mario Vargas Llosa novel (‘The Green House’) since it’s long and not really that entertaining (and I recently left it at a friend’s house, and just today I’ll be getting it back, that’s more than two weeks without reading what I should have, but that gave me time to finish one of the funniest books I’ve ever read, ‘Good Omens’ by Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman). The other thing was that I’ve seen some 2011 films and most of them will be considered for the year’s best (or worst of the year even… I’m looking at you “The Dilemma”, “Hall Pass”, “Sucker Punch”…), but there’s been a subject that has been interesting me recently and just now I’ve realized how it connects to the later aspect of my interests in this blog: 2011 films.
I can feel enthusiasm when it comes to film, and it makes me value things more, I can sense when something is done with passion, may it be a script, a direction, a certain acting, something that’s made with love is specially noted by me, and I celebrate that in many ways. When people love what they do you can see it, and it shows, specially when it goes through a tremendous effort to make it through. For example, the movie ‘The Evil Dead’ (1981) may not be considered as a great movie, for many not even a good movie, but for me it represents what I’m talking about: Passion. Sam Raimi, Bruce Campbell, Robert G. Tapert , and everyone else that put so much effort, blood, sweat and tears, that it’s pretty much wonderful, a masterpiece in my eyes, and my fourth favorite movie of all time. I know it’s extreme, but the first time I saw it something clicked with me, and it’s been the only movie so far that I could see three times in a row without getting bored one second (I was doing nothing else at the moment, in fact, I should have been studying for the biggest test in the history of a chilean student, the PSU — University Selection Test –). Now I see the same passion in the new guys who now are in charge of Hammer Films.
(more…)

Read Full Post »

by Sam Juliano

     I felt like having a little fun tonight, though some might see this venture as impossible to negotiate.  Well, I went year by year and found many more performances than 43, but slowly weeded down the long list to the final designated number.  So many great actors didn’t finish on this list–people like  Cary Grant, Spencer Tracy, Yves Montand, Marcello Mastroianni, Toshiro Mifune, Alec Guiness, James Mason, Michael Redgrave, Orson Welles, and so many others.  I selected the 43 performances in a lead role, that stand among the greatest of all-time, not the actor who gave them, per se.  In any case, I will save you all the qualification rhetotic, and just display the photos.  Why an odd number like 43?  Well, after making a number of cuts I wound up with 43, and couldn’t cut it down further.  Not a single actor place more than one choice on the list, though this wasn’t really by design.

    I ask that all who visit this post to name their own choices, if you can do so.  This list is not offered up in any kind of an order.  Every one in this 43 is as good as the other.  I listed them in the way I wrote them up.  The list was revised early Wednesday morning to include two performances that were accidentally left off as per reminders by Peter Lenihan and Allan Fish: John Wayne and Bruno Ganz.

Per Oscarsson in “Hunger” (1966)
Chishu Ryu in Ozu’s “There Was A Father” (1942)
Robert Donat in “Goodbye Mr. Chips” (1939)

George C. Scott in "Patton" (1970)

 

Severin Mars in “La Roue” (1923)
Robert Preston in “The Music Man” (1962)

(more…)

Read Full Post »