Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for July 14th, 2016

southland tales

 

by Jaimie Grijalba

This is the second essay on this series on Richard Kelly films. That means there’s only one left and we all know which one is. Coincidently, the films are in the countdown in the order I’d put them, this being my second favorite Kelly film and ‘The Box’ (2009) being my third favorite. I’ll use today’s essay to respond to the chapter of a book that I read a couple of years ago. Read on.

The second film directed by American director Richard Kelly is a visionary work that rings true today more than ever. In the current context of United States politics and technology, it becomes more and more telling regarding the vigilance, the violence, the crime, the police and everything else that has flooded the news of the past days, weeks and months. I don’t think even Richard Kelly would’ve prevented half of the stuff that he crammed into this masterpiece would even become real, but here we are, living our own version of Armageddon, the only thing missing is a deep voice going through speakers, asking us how we are and then wishing us a happy apocalypse.

A couple of years ago I had the pleasure of receiving a copy of a book for review purposes. The book was ‘Approaching the End: Imagining Apocalypse in American Film’ written by Peter Labuza, a film critic that I had read lots about and had interacted with on the world of Twitter. I read it and I wrote my review for what was at the time TwitchFilm (now ScreenAnarchy) and here’s what I had to say about the final chapter of the book: (more…)

Read Full Post »