Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for September 18th, 2016

20160917_153732

Aspiring artist Danny Juliano with renowned author/illustrator Raul Colon at Brroklyn Book Festival.

by Sam Juliano

The heartbreak of the last few weeks has taken on a surreal temperament, though there remains an aching pain that is all-too-real.  Yet we must rally and stay the course, as our colleague’s final wishes have made it clear that he wants all his friends and associates to keep that cinematic candle burning at all times.  For some, including the site’s new co-administrator Jamie Uhler, watching and reading stuff is a form of panacea, and the best way to combat the extreme grief many of us are feeling right now.  (To be sure Jamie has his own site, and is busy with more than one project at the current time, but he was exceedingly close to Allan and comes as close to the “yang” role Allan played here for over eight years).  Allan would have wanted this in keeping with his own “telling it like it is” sensibilities and I welcome the move with open arms and fully understand Jamie’s involvement in whatever capacity he is able to negotiate is fully contingent on the demands of his own ventures.  As always my esteemed colleague and very dear friend  Jim Clark remains a twice-a-month contributor, and the various projects that are being contemplated will be deliberated on with some of the other main players including Bob Clark, whose role has been heightened over the past months.  Similarly, it is expected Joel Bocko and Maurizio Roca will be part of this new allignment, but again, everyone is busy on their own fronts understandably.  As always, Tony d’Ambra remains an invaluable advisor, designer, writer and exceedingly close friend whose expertise and friendship has fueled this place from the very start.  The Caldecott Medal Contender series will again be staged at the site, beginning in late October, with a few reviews a week.

The science-fiction countdown is racing towards a glorious conclusion with one superlative piece after the other, though the black cloud of Allan’s passing during the execution of it will never be shaken or forgotten.  I urge all readers to listen to the podcast under the post on THX-1138, where Bob Clark, Joel Bocko and Jamie combine to provide a fitting testimonial to Allan as well as the film itself.

Lucille, the three and boys and I attended the annual Brooklyn Children’s Book Festival on Saturday.  Always a thrill for Danny, who has his own artistic aspirations. We also saw two films theatrically, SNOWDEN and SULLY.  The screening of SNOWDEN was originally set for the Chelsea Cinemas -just a block and a half from yesterday’s Manhattan explosion – before we changed our plans to watch the film in New Jersey.  Of course, we never made it back into the city for our weekly eatery for obvious reasons. (more…)

Read Full Post »

32. The Fountain (2006)

the-fountain-2006-39-g

By Dean Treadway

A dialogue:

FUTURE ME: Why are we doing this? I have work to do.

PRESENT ME: Well, I called you two here to talk about Darren Aronofsky’s The Fountain.

PAST ME: One of my favorites.

FUTURE ME: Oh, I was so young then. Not even forty. Really into anything kind of trippy and obscure.

PAST ME: How did I get so cynical in my old age?

FUTURE ME: Hey, I still like it, but I don’t ever need to see it again. I stopped watching movies I’ve already seen years ago.

PAST ME: Wow!

PRESENT ME: That’s kind of where I’m at now. I think I’m starting to agree with Pauline Kael that watching movies even a second time clues you into their tricks and faults. Only the best ones escape this. This probably means I’ve been watching too many movies.

PAST ME: I can’t see many faults in this one. I saw it on the big screen twice and it stunned me with its boldness and beauty. There’s really nothing like it.

PRESENT ME: The Fountain works most effectively on the big screen, I agree. But there’s a reason for there being nothing like it—it’s a sentimental mess, though occasionally moving. And a box office bomb–way too inquisitive and slow for the masses, even if it’s only 90 minutes long. But it’s brave and beautiful, nevertheless.

PAST ME: I love it. It just hits me, and fascinates me. And there’s part of me that sees it as Aronofsky’s effusive love letter to his wife, Rachel Weisz, whom he clearly adores. Just look at all those loving close-ups.

PRESENT ME: They’re divorced now. She remarried James Bond—Daniel Craig.

PAST ME: Aww, that sucks. Man, where’s the love? And I can’t believe Daniel Craig is James Bond now. Weird choice.

FUTURE ME: You should see who’s playing him now—Benedict Cumberbatch.

PAST ME: Cumberwhat?

PRESENT ME: Guys, guys…back on point. I still find the conquistador segment of the story transfixing, and the future bubble, with the Tree of Life being sent up into a golden nebula, remains a helluva image.

FUTURE ME: We still don’t have any flying bubbles, but we did finally get the Hoverboard down. (more…)

Read Full Post »